Project Psalms: Psalm 1

Have you ever wondered what “meditate on His word” meant? I have. When I was growing up, I would hear that all the time. And being the super intelligent child that I was, I thought it was meditation after reading the Bible. So I tried doing it. Many times. For those of you who don’t know, I have a really hyperactive mind. In any given time of the day, there are at least 5 things running through my mind. And so I was terrible at meditation. Every time I sat to meditate, I would be thinking of things I should not be thinking of while meditating. You might need to read that a couple of times to get it. I’ll wait.

Then I read Psalm 1. It simply says to think about His word day and night. It sounds simple enough, right? Like you read about the fruits of the Holy Spirit and then you spend time asking the Lord for them. Then you spend the day reminding yourself whenever you’re about to lose patience at an arrogant co-worker that the fruits of the Spirit are Love, peace, patience, kindness and so on. So you don’t just read the words, you pray with regard to what you’ve read and then you remind yourself of it though the rest of the day.

But thankfully for us, it doesn’t end there. The Psalm then goes on to say that the Lord watches over your path. So no matter what you’re going through or where you are, you’re not at this alone, Lord is with you. He knows where you’re at, and what you need. Like His word says, He will never leave you nor forsake you. And that’s HIS promise.

Leave a Reply

