A Prayer

I lay awake at night, unable to fall asleep

Looked at the clock every 5 minutes

But the time still dragged on slowly…

I closed my eyes trying to clear my head of all the thoughts

And found myself praying to fall asleep.

A few minutes later, I was still awake with my eyes closed in prayer.

And I prayed…

For the faith to see me through difficult times

For the strength to face my fears

For the courage to not give up

For the hope that everything will be ok

For the loyalty to stick by You even when everything is going great

For the eyes that see what You want me to see

For the ears that hear what You want to say to me

For the heart that longs for Your will

For the mind that gives You control

For the awe that glorifies You

For the kindness You modeled for us

For the forgiveness You granted willingly to those who hated You

For the grace and mercy that made me Yours

For the love that brought You into this world

For the love that You so freely gave asking for nothing in return.

Leave a Reply

